Fearless Vampire Killers @ Plantation Cafe, Guildford  (14/09/2012)

I didn’t originally have a gig to go to last week, but a friend of mine asked if I’d go with her to see Fearless Vampire Killers (you can probably guess the genre…) so- once again, I was on the train to Guildford where we significantly raised the average age of the (14-25) venue. Whoops…

FVK are certainly making an impact – they’ve been getting some great reviews in Kerrang magazine and have a pretty impressive following on facebook and twitter (not that facebook and twitter are everything, mind!). Their music is as you would expect from their image and name – rock/emo songs with catchy hooks and heavy guitars. Not my usual cup of tea, but I nonetheless had fairly high hopes for the evening when I set out.

Now, this is tricky. I don’t want to criticise the venue in because they’re doing a fantastic job – in fact I’d say there need to be more Plantation Cafe – type venues around the UK (whole other rant, don’t get me started!).  From what I heard of FVK, they’re a great live band and well-deserving of their good reviews – however, considering that the majority of the audience appeared to have gone to the gig to specifically see them, it was a great shame that the three support acts overran to such an extent that FVK were only able to play a total of four songs.

Shame, really. My 15-year-old self would have approved. My parents probably wouldn’t have, but I guess that’s the point…